Customer reviews for Spectracide Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules

Spectracide Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules

Spectracide Stump Remover is an easy way to destroy stumps without harming surrounding vegetation. Destroys stumps Easy to use granules accelerate decomposition Will not harm surrounding vegetation Easy to use applicator
Overall Rating:
2.833 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
4 out of 667%of reviewers recommend this product
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Review 1 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work as advertised

PostedJuly 20, 2013
By nodnarb82
From: 
State:Wisconsin
This product does not work as advertised. We drilled the holes just as directed, added the correct amount of granules and added water as directed. It's now 8 weeks later and there has not been the slightest change. We dug around the stump to see if there were any signs of decomposition, but still, nothing has changed.
I cannot say the product doesn't work at all, but it certainly does not work as advertised. This is very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarketingJuly 29, 2013
We're sorry for your frustration. Did you use a brush killer product to make sure the stump was completely dead before using the granules? It will take several weeks for Spectracide Stump Remover to finish the job; on larger stumps, it will take longer. Please give it a couple more weeks, then call us at 1-800-917-5438 and we'll be happy to help troubleshoot to see what the problem is.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Instructions/ guidelines to use stump remover product

PostedMay 3, 2013
By Hitech
From: 
City:Iselin
State:New Jersey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Hi,
I purchased this product from Lowes but was not able to find exact precedure.
I am looking for instructions on how to use this prorduct and what are prerequisites. Can someone share the exact and effective procedure to remove stumps.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarketingMay 6, 2013
No problem -- here's a link to the online product label: http://www.spectracide.com/~/media/.... Before using this product, you will need to use a brush killer product to kill the stump. To remove it, drill several 1-inch holes up to 12 inches deep into stump. Then into the side of the stump, approximately 3 to 4 inches from the top, drill a 1-inch hole slanting down to connect with the bottom of the center hole. Pour approximately 4 oz of Spectracide Stump Remover Granules into each hole. Then fill with hot water to dissolve the granules. Continue to add water to the holes for several days. Allow the decomposition process to take place for four to six weeks before removing the stump.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
By Anonymous
From: 
State:North Carolina
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Yearly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
I recently moved from CA to NC. Stump Remover works just as well on Carolina stumps as it did on California ones. I tinkered with the recommended directions a little, mainly out of curiosity. Drilling more, smaller holes on the stump surface. People need to realize that result times depends on many factors -- the hardness/softness of the wood in the original tree, seasonal temps, precipitation. But it gets the advertised job done. Unless you're in a super hurry, it sure beats chopping, grinding and burning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarketingJanuary 2, 2013
Great! Thanks for being a repeat Spectracide Stump Remover user! Right, it can take several weeks to get results, but it works really well. Thanks for letting us know you're happy with this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Takes a bit longer than advertised

PostedDecember 14, 2012
By MikeR
From: 
State:Florida
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Expert
I have always been happy with this product; works like a charm. That said, it takes longer than 4-6 weeks. In my experience, 3 to 4 months will do it. It is less of a fire hazard than burning the stump out and won't get you in trouble with code enforcement. I cover stumps that I treat with plastic and then a layer of mulch; seems to help it out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarketingJanuary 2, 2013
It will take several weeks for Spectracide Stump Remover to finish the job, but generally will not take three to four months (although if your stumps are very large, that might be the case). Thanks for letting us know you're happy with this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not good for stomps

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
By Stomper
From: 
State:Maryland
As another reviewer stated, this will not work on stomps, which will continue to lie in your yard (as stomps will do). However, use this stuff on a stump and you'll be happy. You can add a little sulfur and some charcoal, ignite with fuse, and you'll really get rid of the stump (this method will also remove most stomps as well!)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarketingSeptember 12, 2012
We're glad you've been successful using Spectracide Stump Remover to get rid of stumps. Thanks for letting us know you're happy with it!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spectracide ® Stump Remover Granules
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work

PostedJuly 12, 2012
By smile10
From: 
State:Missouri
My stomp still lies in my yard. I have to find a company that will remove. Waste Of Money
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.By MarkeitngJuly 18, 2012
We're sorry you didn't get the results you were looking for from Spectracide Stump Remover Granules. You do need to use a brush killer product to kill the stump before using these granules however. We would be happy to help walk you through it -- we'll be in contact by e-mail soon.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.